UFC 215: Demetrious Johnson vs. Ray Borg Preview

This Saturday, September 9th, UFC 215 takes place at the Rogers Place in Edmonton Alberta, Canada. 

The first and only reigning UFC flyweight champion, Demetrious Johnson defends his title against the fast and dangerous Ray Borg in the main event of the evening.

Johnson most recently tied former UFC middleweight champion Anderson Silva with a record 10 title defenses when he took out Wilson Reis in the third round at UFC on FOX 24. One more win and Johnson will hold the record presumably for years to come. That is if he can get past “The Tazmexican Devil” Ray Borg this Saturday. 

Borg is coming off back-to-back unanimous decision victories over Louis Smolka at UFC 207 and Jussier de Silva at UFC Fight Night 106. 

Amanda Nunes vs. Valentina Schevchenko 

Nunes was originally scheduled to defend her UFC bantamweight title against Schevchenko at UFC 213 but pulled out the morning of the fight. Sighting a recurring and long lasting condition the Brazilian has been living with, sinusitis. 

Healthy and ready to get back inside the Octagon, Nunes will look to finish Schevchenko this time around. Looking unstoppable in her last two outing, with first round destructions over former champions Miesha Tate and Ronda Rousey.

Now Schevchenko will finally get her rematch against Nunes, who took a unanimous decision in the first meeting. Schevchenko bounced back with an impressive unanimous decision over former bantamweight champion Holly Holm. Followed by a second round armbar submission victory over top ranked Julianna Pena to earn the rematch and title shot.

UFC 215 Full Card

Main Card
Flyweight: Demetrious Johnson (c) vs. Ray Borg
Women’s Bantamweight: Amanda Nunes (c) vs. Valentina Shevchenko
Welterweight: Neil Magny vs. Rafael dos Anjos
Light Heavyweight: Ilir Latifi vs. Tyson Pedro
Featherweight: Jeremy Stephens vs. Gilbert Melendez

Preliminary Card (Fox Sports 1)
Women’s Bantamweight: Sara McMann vs. Ketlen Vieira
Flyweight: Henry Cejudo vs. Wilson Reis
Women’s Bantamweight: Sarah Moras vs. Ashlee Evans-Smith
Featherweight: Gavin Tucker vs. Rick Glenn

Preliminary Card (UFC Fight Pass)
Lightweight: Mitch Clarke vs. Alex White
Heavyweight: Luis Henrique vs. Arjan Bhullar
Lightweight: Kajan Johnson vs. Adriano Martins